Little Munden C of E (VC) Primary School

'Together we all belong, together we will grow strong'


Please see below information for parents, based on the model letter from Herts for Learning about assessment in the new National Curriculum

As you may know, a new National Curriculum came into operation this September for children in Years 1, 3, 4 and 5.  It is a statutory requirement from the Department for Education that we teach these year groups according to the new curriculum. However children in Years 2 and 6 are still working to the previous National Curriculum. From next September, all Years 1-6 will be working to the new curriculum.


One of the features of the new National Curriculum is that it no longer uses a system of numbered ‘levels’ to describe children’s attainment. This is because it was felt by the DfE that the use of levels had at times been detrimental to children.  For example, talking to children about their attainment using numbered levels could contribute towards their developing a “fixed mindset” about their ability, whereas we want to foster in all our children a “growth mindset”, meaning that we believe that we can all improve our abilities with practice, effort and persistence.  We would also like to further enrich our pupils’ learning by developing a greater breadth of skills and knowledge, so that they are confident to apply their skills to different areas of the curriculum, rather than focus on moving to the ‘next level’.


Pupils will still be familiar with their ‘next steps’ learning targets as a way of ensuring maximum opportunity for progress but there will be no emphasis on what numerical level they are working at.


This national change – the removal of levels – means that, when we discuss your child’s attainment with you, either in meetings or written reports, we will no longer be reporting levels*, as these no longer have any relevance to the curriculum. Instead we will refer to your child’s current level of attainment using phrases such as:

  • working within the expected range of attainment for his/her age
  • working towards the expected range of attainment
  • working below the expected range of attainment
  • working beyond the expected range of attainment


We will also comment on whether your child has made good progress over the year, and give details of any specific areas of the curriculum where he/she has achieved well and any areas where further development or support is needed.


We trust that you will continue to find the information we provide about your child’s education useful and informative. Please do not hesitate to speak to us if you would like to know more details about how your child is progressing in school.


* Levels will be reported at the end of Year 2 and Year 6 this year only.  After that, levels will no longer be in use for any year group.



At Little Munden Primary School, we have introduced a whole school PSHE scheme called Jigsaw. Jigsaw combines PSHE, emotional literacy, mindfulness, social skills and spiritual development.


Jigsaw is designed as a whole school approach, with all year groups working on the same theme (puzzle) at the same time. This enables each puzzle to start with an introductory assembly, generating a whole school focus for adults and children alike. There is a weekly celebration that highlights a theme from that week’s lessons across the school, and encourages children to try to reflect that learning in their behaviour and attitudes.


Mindfulness is developed though the ‘Calm Me’ time in each lesson. This consists of breathing techniques, awareness exercises and visualisation. Mindfulness is a vital tool for life; not only does it support the regulation of emotion and build emotional resilience but is also enhances focus and concentration; both helping to optimise learning for our children!


Jigsaw aims to help children know and value who they really are and how they relate to other people in this ever-changing world.


There are six puzzles (half-termly units of work) each with six pieces (lessons). Every year group studies the same puzzle at the same time, allowing for whole school themes and the end of puzzle product, for example, a display or exhibition (like the Garden of Dreams and Goals) to be shared and celebrated by the whole school.


Each year group is taught one lesson per week and all lessons are delivered in an age and stage appropriate way so they meet children’s needs.

The different puzzle pieces are:

  1. Being Me in My World
  2. Celebrating Difference (including anti-bullying)
  3. Dreams and Goals
  4. Healthy Me
  5. Relationships
  6. Changing Me (including Sex Education)


Each piece has two Learning Intentions; one is based on specific PSHE learning (covering the non-statutory national framework for PSHE Education but enhanced to address children’s needs today); and one is based on emotional literacy and social skills (covering the SEAL learning intentions but also enhanced).  The enhancements mean that Jigsaw is relevant to children living in today’s world as it helps them understand and be equipped to cope with issues like body image, cyber and homophobic bullying, and internet safety.


To access the Parent/ Carer information please follow the link below.

Our Jigsaw Policy can be found under the policy section of our website.

Parent/ Carer information

Jigsaw PSHE policy


Relationships and Sex Education (RSE)

An important part of the Jigsaw PSHE programme is delivered through the ‘Relationships’ and ‘Changing Me’ puzzle pieces which are covered in the summer term.

There are four main aims of teaching RSE:

  1. To enable children to understand and respect their bodies
  2. To help children develop positive and healthy relationships appropriate to their age and development
  3. To support children to have positive self-esteem and body image
  4. To empower them to be safe and safeguarded


Each year group will be taught appropriate to their age and developmental stage. At no point will a child be taught something that is inappropriate; and if a question from a child arises and the teacher feels it would be inappropriate to answer (for example, because of its mature or explicit nature), this information will be shared with you by your child’s class teacher. The question will not be answered to the child or class if it is outside the remit of that year group’s programme.


Below is a summary of RSE coverage within the Jigsaw scheme for each year group:

  • Reception – Growing up: how we have changes since we were babies
  • Year 1 – Boys’ and girls’ bodies; naming body parts
  • Year 2 – Boys’ and girls’ bodies: body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is)
  • Year 3 – How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change as they grow older
  • Year 4 – Internal and external reproductive body parts, body changes in girls and menstruation
  • Year 5 – Puberty for boys and girls, and conception
  • Year 6 – Puberty for boys and girls and understanding conception to birth of a baby


To find further information about how the school approaches the teaching of Relationships and Sex Education through the Jigsaw programme can be found within the documents below: