There has been a school in the parish of Little Munden for nearly 200 years. The first school was opened by Revd J.P Reynolds in All Saints Church in 1819 and, later in 1826, a separate school building was built. For 125 years, Little Munden educated children of all ages. In 1945, following the 1944 Education Act stipulating that children over 11 years old should attend secondary school, Little Munden became a primary school with 25 pupils.
The current school has been added to, enlarged and improved to accommodate the expanding roll over the years. In 1970 a modern kitchen and the unique octagonal hall were built and in 1988 a new library extension was built, funded by the active PTA, and further improved in 1994. The school still, however, retains the original charming Victorian school building, now the home of Class 4.
The school’s traditional catchment area draws children from surrounding villages, hamlets and towns covering a radius of 10 miles. Admission is, however, open to children from all parts of Hertfordshire.